The Plant Club July 2020 Unboxing & Review

This post includes affiliate links, but the product was purchased by me.

The Plant Club July 2020 Unboxing & Review - Pothos Neon - Epipremnum aureum - devil's ivy - care instructions, pet safe, how much water

The Plant Club July 2020 – Pothos Neon

I always loved the look of houseplants but I know virtually nothing about them. In typical quarantine fashion, I decided to give it a go and subscribed to The Plant Club, a monthly houseplant delivery service that takes the guesswork out of shopping for plants. Monthly featured plant is always a mystery, but I was open to surprises and would have been happy with anything, really. In July 2020 our plant of the month turned out to be Pothos ‘Neon’ or Epipremnum aureum, a pretty vine with bright, neon green leaves. What a beauty!

HOW IT WORKS:

For $24.95 + $9.00 S&H subscribers will receive a package that includes one carefully wrapped healthy “featured plant”, a suitable pot, premium potting soil mix with a bag of pebbles for drainage, if necessary, a plant name tag, and a hand-illustrated sheet with instructions. At the time of this post, there’s no option to receive pet-friendly plants only. Click here to subscribe.

What’s included in The Plant Club July 2020 box:

  • Pothos ‘Neon’ aka Epipremnum aureum
  • Glazed floral pot with attached saucer to collect drainage water
  • Premium soil blend, custom made by The Plant Club to match the plant’s needs
  • Wood bean pebbles for drainage

The Plant Club July 2020 Unboxing & Review - Pothos Neon - Epipremnum aureum - devil's ivy - care instructions, pet safe, how much water

Plant arrives in a big box with sufficient padding for the plant and other contents.

The Plant Club July 2020 Unboxing & Review - Pothos Neon - Epipremnum aureum - devil's ivy - care instructions, pet safe, how much water

Here’s everything that was inside my  box.

The Plant Club July 2020 Unboxing & Review - Pothos Neon - Epipremnum aureum - devil's ivy - care instructions, pet safe, how much water

The plant is carefully protected by multiple layers: plastic bag, soft breathable mesh fabric, and crinkle paper.

The Plant Club July 2020 Unboxing & Review - Pothos Neon - Epipremnum aureum - devil's ivy - care instructions, pet safe, how much water

The box includes all the necessary supplies.

 

Care instructions are pretty straightforward and following them shouldn’t be an issue.

1 // Epipremnum aureum is a tropical plant and thrives between 65° – 85° F.

2 // Can tolerate some neglect, low light, and occasional missed watering – I can do that, haha!

3 // Avoid direct sunlight – diffused light is best to prevent scorching of the leaves.

4 // Pothos neon is not pet safe, which worried me at first, but Luna has shown zero interest in it. I’m still keeping the pot out of her reach, just in case.

5 // Trimming is recommended to encourage new growth and keep the root system more contained. Plus, the trimmings can be propagated into new individual plants.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by dream of greens✨ (@dream.of.greens) on

Pothos ‘Neon’ inspo on IG. Maybe I should get a plant stand like this one for mine?

FUN FACTS:

  • This variety of pothos can grow to 6 feet – OMG!
  • Also called ‘Devil’s Ivy’ because this plant is nearly impossible to kill.
  • Pothos effectively removes toxic air pollutants like formaldehyde, trichloroethane, benzene, etc…

The Plant Club July 2020 Unboxing & Review - Pothos Neon - Epipremnum aureum - devil's ivy - care instructions, pet safe, how much water

One month later – she is thriving!

BOTTOM LINE:

Pothos Neon truly is a beautiful houseplant and it was perfect for being my first venture. I’ve only had it for a month, but so far it’s been super easy to care for and not too fussy about humidity or lighting.  It had a couple of small nicks on the leaves from shipping, but I can’t even see them anymore – do plants’ leaves heal? Anyhow, this pothos is a keeper! In the future, once the base bunch gets bushier, I plan to put it up on a high shelf as a piece of green decor, or maybe even hang it in a pretty macrame basket for a more boho vibe.

I initially planned to cancel after the first The Plant Club box because I didn’t think caring for more than one plant is for me, but my experience was so overwhelmingly positive that I decided to continue my subscription and add more plants to our apartment.

Do you have any houseplants? Would you be open to trying a mystery plant subscription like this one?

Follow:
This post features products purchased by Glamorable and may contain affiliate or referral links. For more details about my product review policy, copyright, and information about affiliate links, please refer to Disclosures & Content Use page.
Share: