POPSUGAR MustHave January 2017

pr sample affiliate links

POPSUGAR MustHave January 2017 Review

It’s already February and here I am still trying to sort things out from the previous months. My POPSUGAR MustHave January 2017 review may be a bit too late at this point, but I thought I would show you the contents just so those of you who are still new to this subscription could take a look at the products that we got last month. What I like about POPSUGAR boxes is that almost everything is full-sized and easily giftable. You could buy one box as a gift, or break it up into many little presents. I’ve done it in the past, and my giftees were always thrilled to receive their goodies! POPSUGAR MustHave January 2017 box was inspired by the beginnings, resolutions, and post-holiday detox.  

HOW IT WORKS:

Become a POPSUGAR Must Have subscriber to receive an exciting box full of hand-selected items from POPSUGAR editors every month. Each box will include a variety of full-sized products and premium items worth over $100 (ARV). It costs $39.95/month and you can use the code SHOP5 to get a special one-time $5 discount off your first box. Click here to subscribe

POPSUGAR MustHave January 2017 Review POPSUGAR MustHave January 2017 Review

CONTENTS:

1 // Manduka eQua Mat Towel – It’s pretty much a tradition that every January box contains some kind of a fitness item, and sure enough, we got the yoga mat towel! Two years ago in January we received Manduka hand towel, which I’ve been using since, and it still looks brand new, so I can personally vouch for the quality of the material. I thought I wouldn’t get much use out of it, honestly, but I was surprised how often I reach for it after all. So even if this yoga towel is not your thing, keep an open mind, you never know when it will come in handy! P.S.: This microfiber material is amazing for traveling or packing light, when you don’t want to bring your large towels that take a ton of space in the luggage/backpack. It absorbs water and sweat like a champ!

2 // Daily Concepts Your Hair Wrap Towel – Thanks to subscription boxes, I now own half a dozen of similar hair wraps, but this one is by far the best-looking. You essentially wrap the towel around your hair like a turban, which absorbs moisture, minimizing frizz and flyaways and reducing the dry time. I always use these when I plan to air-dry my hair. I really can’t think of anything negative to say about it, this is a pretty functional little thing that you never knew you needed. If you have long hair that takes forever to dry, you’re going to love this one.

3 // May Designs Desk Calendar & Notecard – May Designs has been on my radar since we received a cute weekly agenda notebook with chevron design on the cover in August 2013. I still have it somewhere! This stylish tabletop calendar is a great addition to any home office, and once the month is over, you can cut off the calendar part, transforming the sheet into a cute notecard for someone special. Every month has its own unique design, and the patterns are all very pretty.

4 // Goldfaden MD Fresh A Peel Multi Acid Resurfacing Peel – This premium natural beauty brand has been on my try list for years, and I’m happy to finally have the opportunity to check out one of their bestsellers. I am no stranger to peels, they work well for my skin that’s prone to hyperpigmentation. In fact, I’m glad that we didn’t get a serum or a moisturizer, because I still have a mountain of those to go through. I only used it twice, but so far so good: my face didn’t feel irritated or overly dry afterward, and yet the skin looked supple and soft after each use. I will continue using it regularly to see if there are long-term positive improvements, but for now the results seem promising. Have you tried anything from this brand?

5 // Dean & Deluca Peppermint Loose Leaf Tea – I’m all about that hygge lifestyle right now, which means that tea is on the menu pretty much daily. Peppermint is one of my favorite herbal teas, and this one tasted fresh and yummy! Peppermint tea is known to ease anxiety, calm the nerves, and improve digestion, so I always drink a cup before bedtime to relax and unwind after a stressful day. peppermint has beauty benefits too. It’s not widely known, but when ingested, peppermint extract helps with certain types of acne, minimizing pimples and preventing the appearance of new ones. It doesn’t work all the time, but I noticed that my hormonal breakouts are less severe than they used to be before I started drinking herbal teas. At the very least, it’s worth a try 🙂

6 // Sourcebooks Inc Instant Happy Notes – Ok, guys, I’ll be brutally honest here. I think these sticky notes with happy quotes look super tacky. There was so much potential to make them chic, but the basic fonts the company used look like my middle school PowerPoint project in the mid-90s. Don’t get me wrong, I think this is a fabulous idea! I could definitely use a little daily pick me up, but these were just poorly executed, in my opinion. Again, I’m sure the company has their loyal customers and maybe I’m in the minority here, being a negative Nancy and all, I just feel like they could have done so much better.

7 // [BONUS] Glade №3 Free Coconus and Beach Woods Candle – Once in a while POPSUGAR includes a bonus product that was added as an extra. They don’t count it toward the total value of the box, because usually it’s a low value product, like a drugstore body wash, a bar of soap, or a box of cookies. This time we got a very fragrant candle, that made the entire box smell like coconuts. I use Glade room sprays and also have one of their car air freshener things, but I don’t think I tried the candles before. I recently wrote a blog post about candles, where I mentioned that most of the time inexpensive ones are just there to look pretty and don’t scent the room very well. If my initial impression is any correct, though, this candle might be a rare exception. I did not have a chance to light it yet, because I don’t like starting new candles before I finish the old ones, but it sure seems potent enough to scent the entire room. We’ll see!

POPSUGAR MustHave January 2017 Review POPSUGAR MustHave January 2017 Review

BOTTOM LINE:

POPSUGAR MustHave January 2017 box had some hits and one miss. I am very happy about Dean & Deluca Peppermint tea and Goldfaden MD peel, those two are probably my favorite products in the box. While I don’t think I needed that yoga mat towel, I threw it in my gym bag for now and I’m sure it will eventually get used. I don’t know what to do with the happy notes, any ideas? I feel like it would be kind of a waste to toss them, but there’s nothing I can use them for. Let me know if you have any tips!

Did you like the contents of POPSUGAR MustHave January 2017 box? Have you tried any of these products? What do I do with those sticky notes? Help! 🙂


Disclosure: This post features products received for editorial consideration and may contain affiliate or referral links. For more details about my product review policy, copyright, and information about affiliate links, please refer to Disclosures & Content Use page.

Follow:
Share:
  • Jen Sky Walker

    Mmmm….coconut…..

    I’m a big tea drinker, including herbal teas, but peppermint is one that I just can’t seem to enjoy for some reason.

    • A fellow tea drinker here, too 🙂 Herbal teas are the best! Finally got a nice electric tea kettle so I don’t have to run to the stove every time ours whistles. Best kitchen investment ever so far!

  • Really like the contents especially the yoga mat towel!

    • It’s a nice towel! It will come in handy when I do yoga more often once spring rolls in.

  • Stacie Wacie

    I have been very surprised by Glade candles in the past. I find that they’re as fragrant as more expensive ones, but also much smaller, so you’re not really saving money with them. There is a lot of good stuff in this box, but I agree with you on the stuff you weren’t as into.

    • Good to know you had a positive experience with Glade candles! It does seem a tad small in comparison with other drugstore candles, but maybe where it lacks in size, it will compensate in fragrance.