Glossybox September 2017 Review

pr sample affiliate links

Glossybox September 2017 Review - via @glamorable #glossybox #beautybox

Glossybox September 2017 Review

I promised to share my review of the September Glossybox eventually, so here it is! I was going to be late to the party anyway, so I figured it doesn’t really matter when I post it, as long as I do.

HOW IT WORKS:

Glossybox is one of the most popular international beauty subscription services, and now it finally came to the US. Each month Glossybox subscribers receive up to six deluxe-size to full size products from crème de la crème of international brands. The prices start at $21/month for a month-to-month subscription, but if you commit for 3, 6, or 12 months, the price goes down a bit. It’s not the cheapest sample box out there, but the retail value of the products will always be way above. Click here to join Glossybox, and don’t forget to use Ebates for some extra cashback!

Glossybox September 2017 Review - via @glamorable #glossybox #beautybox Glossybox September 2017 Review - via @glamorable #glossybox #beautybox Glossybox September 2017 Review - via @glamorable #glossybox #beautybox

CONTENTS:

1 // Morgan Taylor Nail Polish in Magician’s Assistant ($9) – This lovely neutral mushroom greige creme is pretty universal. I tend to change up my nail polish collection with the seasons, but a color like this would fit in both with my summer and winter lineups. Morgan Taylor has a nice formula, too. It dries fast and sets with a shiny, glossy finish even without a top coat.

2 // Manna Kadar GLO Illuminator ($29) – Even though I have way too many samples of this highlighter, and I’m at the point where it’s hard for me to get excited about it, I still think it’s an exceptional product. Those subscribers who don’t already have one of these tubes, or a mountain of samples from other subscription boxes, probably really enjoyed adding this beautiful highlighter to their makeup routine. The shimmer is suspended in a siliconey base, so it has some slip to it, which makes the product very easy to blend.

3 // Freeman Beauty Infusion Cleansing Clay Mask ($8) – Here’s where I had a dilemma, to open or not to open? In the end I gave the mask to a friend, because even though it looked interesting, I honestly have way WAY too many clay masks open right now. The formula contains charcoal to purify the pores, and probiotics to nourish the skin’s biome.

4 // Pureology Clean Volume Shampoo & Conditioner ($28 & $30) – Pureology was one of the first fancypants hair care brands that I ever used, so I always think fondly of their products even when I already have something better in my stash. As the name suggests, this duo helps boost volume at the roots and purify oily strands and scalp with aloe water and soy protein. These products are sulfate-free and vegan, so they are safe even for color treated hair.

5 // Lancôme Paris Visionnaire Advanced Multi-Correcting Cream SPF 20 ($87) – This may look like a decent travel-sized sample tube, but there is actually only 1-2 uses in it, considering that you need approximately 1/2-1 tsp for proper sun protection on your face. I used this sunscreen before and didn’t think it was anything special, so I just tossed this sample in my bag of travel products.

6 // Lancôme Paris Advanced Génifique Sensitive Antioxidant Serum ($78) – Depending on how you use serums, this sample should last at least 4 to 7 applications. I managed to use it 6 times for my face and neck, and for the last application I only had enough to use on my face. I couldn’t really tell if there are any results to speak of, but it helped confirm that my skin was not reacting negatively to the formula. To be honest, I much prefer Lancome makeup, but this serum was actually one of their better skincare products on my recent memory. It contains Ferulic Acid, Vitamin E, and Centella Asiatica, all of which are proven skin-loving ingredients. Mind you, I tested this serum way back in September, and right now I am very happy with my current regimen from Olay that I will tell you about soon!

Glossybox September 2017 Review - via @glamorable #glossybox #beautybox

Manna Kadar GLO Illuminator (swatch)

BOTTOM LINE:

The retail value of all products in the September 2017 box is approximately $80, and that’s on the lower end for these boxes. Seriously though, I am always so impressed with the amount of full-sized products and high value samples included in these. And by the way, I already reviewed the October box here, and I just received my November box, too, so you will be seeing the blog post on it soon. Let me tell you, the packaging on that one is absolutely gorgeous!

Do you subscribe to Glossybox? What do you think about the September box? Let me know in the comments below!

Follow:
This post features products received for editorial consideration and may contain affiliate or referral links. For more details about my product review policy, copyright, and information about affiliate links, please refer to Disclosures & Content Use page.
Share:
  • Allison @neversaydiebeauty

    I adore the illuminator. I’ve gotten some Manna Kadar products in Ipsy bags – boy, would I love to get this one! I think Lancome is a good brand, but so many of their products including skincare are too fragranced for me – are these?? I’d say it was a good box.

    • A good box indeed! I’m with you on Lancome, I can take a little fragrance in a beauty product here and there, but theirs are just scented off the charts. The SPF20 moisturizer was pretty average and too fragranced for my liking, but the serum was pretty nice actually. If you have a chance to grab a sample at Lancome counter, give it a go. There are some good ingredients in this one.

  • I like the look of that box. I’m on sample box lockdown, for a while. I just realized how many snack sized products I have so I cancelled Play and no more until I use a bunch of this stuff up!

    • I hear you, girl. I am trying hard to downsize without making an excuse to buy more out of it.

  • Kendall Frey

    Ooh that clay mask sounds good – I’ll have to check this out!

    • Let me know what you think of it 🙂 I had to skip this one because I already have too many open.

  • That highlighter is so pretty! Overall it’s still a good box for the price

    • It really is 🙂 That rose gold shimmer is so flattering.

  • Love Morgan Taylor polishes, and Freeman Beauty Masks are great! Hopefully your friend enjoys it!

  • Ehmkay Nails

    I actually like many of these items. It’s a great value too! Morgan Taylor polishes are amazing

    • I know right? Morgan Taylor is one of those underrated hidden gems few people seem to know about.

  • marciaf

    While none of these would suit me I think the box has a good variety of products in it.

    • I agree, the variety is always impressive, even when the products are not something I would personally enjoy. This happened to me a few times with Glossybox and other subscription boxes in the past.

  • That Morgan Taylor shade is pretty!

    • It is! And it’s perfect for any season.

  • Jen Sky Walker

    This looks like a great box for the price! I like boxes with full sizes products rather than just small samples since, like with the serum, that isn’t really enough for me to decide if it is worth buying a full one.

    • Agreed, it’s always nice to receive a proper product rather than a tiny peelie that may or may not even be enough for one use.

  • Shelley Polarbelle

    Wow, that is a great box. I’m in love with Manna Kadar…I’d be all over that shimmer….or should I say the shimmer would be all over me…

    • Haha, you go girl! Shimmer loves you, you always look queenly with your highlighters 🙂

  • That Morgan Taylor polish is stunning, so perfect for the fall season! Really in trend!

    • It’s a beauty, indeed. I think it matches the weather outside pretty well, haha! It’s been raining here all week.

  • FairyTales Nails

    Looks like it was a really good box, love the shade of that Morgan Taylor polish x

    • It was a good one, indeed! Definitely a good value for the price, especially if someone can use all of the products.