Ricky’s Cult Crushes September 2017 Box Review

pr sample affiliate links

Ricky’s Cult Crushes September 2017 Box Review

Ricky’s Cult Crushes September 2017 Box Review

Yesterday I promised you a more thorough review of Ricky’s Cult Crushes September 2017 box, so here it is! My September vacation turned out to be longer than expected. Even though I thought I would have the time to blog at least 2-3 times a week, in reality I could barely squeeze out a post every so often, so I am currently catching up on reviews that should have gone live weeks ago. Ricky’s is still one of my favorite – and most fun! – stores to visit in NYC, so I was really excited when they finally launched their very own subscription box. You just never know what’s going to be featured, but you know it’s going to be amazing.

HOW IT WORKS:

For $11/month, subscribers will receive a curated collection of full-sized and sample-sized products, that will help achieve a particular on-trend look, as well as 25% VIP discount on all purchases at rickysnyc.com. Additionally, each subscriber will get an access code to unlock exclusive online tutorials in which popular beauty influencers demonstrate how to use the products in the box to create the look of the month. Click here to check it out.

Ricky’s Cult Crushes September 2017 Box Review

HSI Glider Mini .5″ Ceramic Flat Iron

Ricky’s Cult Crushes September 2017 Box Review

Ricky’s x Z Palette Large Palette comes with a set of magnets. 

Ricky’s Cult Crushes September 2017 Box Review

Ricky’s x Z Palette Large Palette (back side)

CONTENTS:

1 // HSI Glider Mini .5″ Ceramic Flat Iron ($19.99) – Yes, seriously, we got a travel-friendly, portable mini flat iron in an $11 subscription box! ✨😱✨ It features ionic ceramic tourmaline-infused plates that distribute the heat more evenly, and deliver silky smooth hair while protecting it from overheat damage. The size is fantastic for straightening bangs, or really any time you need to straighten those frizzy strands on the go. It is seriously so compact! It doesn’t have a ton of settings, just an on-off switch, but I wouldn’t expect it to pack the same type of firmware as a full-sized flat iron.

2 // Wella EIMI Root Shoot Precise Root Mousse ($19 for 5.07 oz) – Root-lifting products are a godsend for those of us with find, flat hair, and this mousse is no exception. I’ve been a fan of Wella for decades, so of course I was excited to receive something new to try from the brand. The mousse worked really well for me. It added volume but didn’t make the roots feel stiff and crunchy, which is a major bonus. I still like being able to run my fingers through my hair without snagging on anything, and I can do just that after using a golf ball worth of product during styling.

3 // HSI Argan Oil Smoothing Shampoo, Conditioner, Leave-In Treatment Oil – I thought about saving these sample foils for traveling, but figured I might as well try them now. Unfortunately, the amount of shampoo wasn’t enough to thoroughly clean my long hair, and managed to spread the conditioner over half of my hair [from ends and about midway up]. This trio was nice, but nothing to write home about – my hair didn’t look much smoother than if I had used my regular shampoo, condish, and treatment. It’s just my opinion though, other people seem to really like these based on the reviews I’ve seen online.

4 // Ricky’s x Z Palette Large Palette – Z Palette got some bad rap lately, so my initial thought was to give it away [google Z Palette drama, if you want]. However, this is such a pretty and well-made palette that I decided to keep it for my depotted eyesahadows, and honestly, I think the quality is fantastic.

5 // Masque Bar by Look Beauty Luminizing Charcoal Peel Off Mask – Charcoal peel-off masks are kind of on trend lately, aren’t they? I didn’t think this particular one pulled out a lot of gunk from my pores, but it did make my skin look brighter and smoother, which is what I’d expect from a mask like this one. Some of the people reported that the removal process is very painful, but to me it was no worse than any other masks of this type. Maybe my skin is just less sensitive, who knows?

Ricky’s Cult Crushes September 2017 Box Review

Masque Bar by Look Beauty Luminizing Charcoal Peel Off Mask, Wella EIMI Root Shoot Precise Root Mousse, HSI Argan Oil Smoothing Shampoo, Conditioner, Leave-In Treatment Oil.

BOTTOM LINE:

Fun box, isn’t it? I don’t think I’ve ever seen a styling tool in any of the budget beauty boxes. I usually don’t bring my styling tools when I travel because they take up too much space, but I am definitely going to pack this one from now on. And if you loved any of these products enough to buy a full-size [or a spare], all of them are available at Ricky’s online and at select locations. Don’t forget, Cult Crushes subscribers get an exclusive VIP discount on all purchases at rickysnyc.com!

Do you ever pack beauty tools when you travel? Let me know in the comments below!

Follow:
This post features products received for editorial consideration and may contain affiliate or referral links. For more details about my product review policy, copyright, and information about affiliate links, please refer to Disclosures & Content Use page.
Share:
  • That mini flat iron is so cute!! I would love to have that for my travel bag. And having it be included in an $11 sub box, that’s a steal!

  • That flat iron is cute!!

  • marciaf

    This is a terrific sub. I think I’ll try it out. Are other months as hair oriented?

  • That has to be the cutest hair iron. Will check this one out, it’s within my budget for sure

  • That’s a fun box, but since I’d never use about half the products it just doesn’t seem worth it…

  • That is a fun box! The design on the Z palette is enough to make me want it!

  • Ehmkay Nails

    This seems like an amazing deal! I had no idea that Ricky’s did a box! Wish I could just go and buy it down the street.

  • I have a mini flat iron at home and it’s totally bunk. Too small to do anything with.

  • Kristi Vasquez

    The mini flat iron seems like it would be great for bangs to straighten. Great review!

  • What a great deal for the price!

  • FairyTales Nails

    THis box looks fab for the price x

  • Oh man – great box for the price! Plus, 25% off?! Sounds too good to be true! 🙂