Amazon Prime Surprise Sweets September 2017 Box Review

purchased affiliate links

Amazon Prime Surprise Sweets September 2017 Box Review - via @glamorable #sweets #amazonbox #amazonprime #gourmetsweets

Amazon Prime Surprise Sweets September 2017 Box Review

I know we’re nearing the end of October, and here I am with my Amazon Prime Surprise Sweets September 2017 box review. I actually don’t plan on buying the October box because I was gifted a lot of sweets recently, enough to satisfy my cravings at least for another month, so I figured I’ll save myself $18 this time. Anyhow, the September box was a bit disappointing, and it was the first Amazon Prime Surprise Sweets box that I didn’t like much. Sweets are always YMMV though, keep that in mind. 


First of all, sign up for Amazon Prime to request the dash button, if you’re not already a member. The button costs $4.99, which turns into credit toward your first box. Each Amazon Prime Surprise Sweets Box costs $18 with free 2-day Prime shipping to 48 contiguous states, and includes at least four small batch, gourmet, unique artisan sweets. Order Protection ensures your dash button responds only to your first press until the box is delivered. Click here to check it out.

Amazon Prime Surprise Sweets September 2017 Box Review - via @glamorable #sweets #amazonbox #amazonprime #gourmetsweets

Bequet Caramel Salt-Chocolate Caramels

Amazon Prime Surprise Sweets September 2017 Box Review - via @glamorable #sweets #amazonbox #amazonprime #gourmetsweets

Grey Ghost Bakery Lemon Sugar Cookies

Amazon Prime Surprise Sweets September 2017 Box Review - via @glamorable #sweets #amazonbox #amazonprime #gourmetsweets

Fisher’s Popcorn Caramel Popcorn

Amazon Prime Surprise Sweets September 2017 Box Review - via @glamorable #sweets #amazonbox #amazonprime #gourmetsweets

Island Treasures Gourmet Chocolate Chocolate Chip Rum Cake


1 // Bequet Caramel Salt-Chocolate Caramels ($28.95 for 3 x 4 oz) – I like soft chewy caramels, but I felt like there was too much chocolate in these for my liking. Loved the texture though, it was creamy and smooth, and the caramels stretched for miles before breaking. They really felt and tasted like a gourmet product, no lie. I would love to try a regular original caramel from this brand, I bet I’d like it a lot more.

2 // Grey Ghost Bakery Lemon Sugar Cookies ($9.99 for 8 oz) – I am a huge fan of lime and lemon-flavored cookies and pies, so I knew right away these wouldn’t last long in this house. I was right! These cookies are both soft and crispy, and also a little chewy, it’s like a party of textures in every bite. I really loved the candied lemon zest, it added a bit of pizzazz to this already fabulous recipe.

3 // Fisher’s Popcorn Caramel Popcorn ($9 for 6 x 2 oz) – I love supporting small family-owned businesses, which is why it breaks my heart to say that I didn’t like this popcorn at all 🙁 And it’s not really the flavor that was the problem, it’s the popcorn itself. A lot of kernels in my bag weren’t fully popped, and even those that were still had rock hard bits that got stuck in my teeth. Probably a bad batch, because I can’t imagine it was intentional.

4 // Island Treasures Gourmet Chocolate Chocolate Chip Rum Cake ($24.95 for 4 x 4 oz) –  I used to have rum cakes a lot back in Russia, they are very popular there for some reason, and you can buy them at any bakery and grocery store. I realized that I haven’t had it once since I moved to the US! Island Treasures did well with this recipe: it was soft, moist, gooey, and very decadent. The cake was so rich that I couldn’t even finish it all in one sitting, and had to have the other half later. Long story short: I had a lot of store-bought rum cakes in my life, and this one is among the best.


OK, so if you read the first paragraph, you already know that I actually didn’t care for this box much. My biggest disappointment was the popcorn: for a company that’s been in business for 80 years you’d think it would be outstanding, but it wasn’t. Maybe I got a bag from a bad batch? The caramels were also not my favorite, but in this case it’s just because I didn’t care for that particular flavor. I’m sure if you like chocolate caramels you’d love these too, because the texture and the overall quality seemed outstanding. The cookies and the rum cake were great though, I am happy I at least had these two to enjoy. Well, with these mystery boxes you win some, you lose some! 🙂

Have you tried a rum cake before? What is your favorite sweet treat? Let me know in the comments below!

This post features products purchased by Glamorable, and may contain affiliate or referral links. For more details about my product review policy, copyright, and information about affiliate links, please refer to Disclosures & Content Use page.